top of page

Week 3: Refining the Goals

In October, I set my goals as establishing my yoga sessions as a real practice; to make more of a commitment and specifically concentrate on my posture. I have continued to attend my flow and Yin classes but am not religious about using the roller for my back, and doing neck and postural exercises every night.

These goals are really important, not just because I enjoy yoga and think it is generally good for people, [especially those who sit at computers all day], but because I have osteoporosis. There have been studies showing that doing yoga every day, even for only 10 minutes, will improve bone density. Then there are the specific poses for straightening the upper back [like fish & bow pose].

So basically, I need to set aside time on my mat at home and be diligent about showing up to perform the routine I’ve established. Any modifications would include new movements, postures, stretches, and techniques that are introduced in my classes. I also neglected to include in my goal – movement at work. I need to schedule walks at lunch, stretching, and the use of elastic bands throughout the day [at both jobs and at home], especially now that gardening season is ending….

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page