top of page

The Off Switch

An important message from this week’s off the mat discussions was how to “switch off” and mitigate stress. As I am one who dwells, whether it is something someone has said or a situation that I would have liked to have gone differently, or something that I wish would resolve itself appropriately - I cannot let things go.

My mind will not rest. I will lie awake while it gets stuck in a loop, replaying a meeting or how to address a problem. Often it has to do with my vacation rental business and some of the nonsense [online reviews] my guests get up to. Some people you just cannot please!

So it is really necessary that I begin to embrace the mindfulness, breathing, and healing mechanisms afforded by yoga and specifically this class. I am going to take some time during Thanksgiving to develop a protocol to invoke when I need to set aside a stressful situation.

First: To admit that it’s there, that I recognize its harmfulness, that reliving and rethinking it is not going to change it. That it is not more important than my peace and wellbeing and breathe.

Second: Maybe after the prescribed breathing techniques – I will decide to add a short physical routine; back & neck with roller, some meditation, some balancing poses, even chanting and music ….

Third: Try some run-throughs and perfect the response.

Here goes!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page